I just want to vlog to the masses. . .

August 20, 2008 at 1:36 pm (munnie spending, technology, the intarwebz)

I’m trying to make a vlog, but everything is against me. The number one problem is that I have a Mac, so only a very select few cameras work with it correctly. There is the iSight (which is $200 at the very least) and then there are a few other cameras that I can’t find anywhere.

He looks quite happy, doesnt he?

He looks quite happy, doesn't he?

I have been trying the Macam driver route, which allows you to use practically any well-known webcam brand on your Mac, but it has been giving me a bit of trouble. Yesterday I bought a new Logitech QuickCam Communicate STX with a built in microphone (because you can only use USB mics on this computer). Macam recognizes it and will let me use it in some programs — BUT I can’t find a decent program that records video AND audio so that I can make a video blog! I’ve been trying Quicktime Broadcaster, but even when I set it to 30fps it only records at 5.

Then the bottom half of my camera feed randomly turned into coloured pixels and the only way to fix it was to put my hand to the lens, but once pulled away it would go back to its coloured craziness. I think that part has something to do with the RightLight technology that the camera has, but since I can’t install the actual driver that came with it (Windows only disc) I am out of luck. Why do things have to be so difficult?

I suppose I could do vlogs only on weekends when my dad happens to bring his laptop home from work. I was thinking that I could do them on my PC, but then I remembered my parents had it reformated and for some reason the guy doing it install Windows 98. That’s right. . . we had it reformatted just over one year ago and it has WINDOWS ’98! He couldn’t install 2000 even? Or ME? Something that programs can be installed on? Nothing works on Windows ’98.

The only other solution I can think of is running Windows on my PC, which I am not against doing. I have VirtualPC downloaded and working, I just need a Windows OS disc. If anyone can help please let me know! I MUST VLOG!

Cheers! If you wanted to follow me to watch for future vlogs, here I am on Vimeo.

1 Comment

  1. forthesun said,

    Try Vidnik.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

